Unani Medicine
Eye Care
Hair Care
Skin Care
Medicinal Plants
Register Here
Member Login
Original Scriptures


Of all the treaties available for ayurveda Charaksamhita is the best even today. It encompasses the details about the precious principles (elements) about Ayurvedic therapeutics i.e. Chikitsa-Vidnyan and is the only work, which covers Ayurveda comprehensively. Charaksamhita also has the aggregation of Sankya, Yoga, Nyay, Vaisheshik, Vedanta and Mimansa given in the form of verses.

Study of the book not only makes one aware of the ayurvedic facts but make masters of those topics and subjects. There are plenty of novels written that give detail explanation of each Soorta.

Regarding this fact only, it was said by Maharshikalpa Kaviraj Gangadharji Sen at the beginning lines of 'Jalpakalpatary' (Tika on Charaksanhita) that " ChrakSanhita is the tree, which contains branches of all sciences".

Rachayita (Writer)

The writer of the book, chapter or topic can be seen, written on the front, first and all pages of this book.

Brahma taught ayurveda to prajapati. The knowledge of life was taught to Ashwinikumar from Prajapati, form Ashwinkumar to indra and from Indra to bhardwaj. Bhardwaj lived a long, happy and healthy life with the help of Ayurveda and he also spread this knowledge to other sages (Rishi).

After Bhardwaj, Punarvasu Atreya taught Ayurveda to his six Shishyas (students) named Agnivesha, Bhed, Jatukarna, Parashra, Harita and Ksharapani. In these six Shishyas First of all the most brilliant Agnivesha created (prepared) one Sanhita.

In each chapter of charaksanhita, it is written at the end that Chank modified the Agnivesh Tantra and so it was named as Charak Sanhita. It is given in CharakSanhita that the original scriptures of chapter 12 and17 were not available at the time of creation, so Drudhabla completed those chapters afterwards.

Information about the five ayurvedic scholars Acharya named Bharadwaj, Atreya, Agnivesha, Charak and Drudhabad who were related to Sanhita reveals many unsolved queries about the transfer of ayurveda to Misra, Cheen and other developed countries.

Sushrut Sanhita

While the King of Kashi, Divodas Dhanwantrai was spending his retired life (Van Prasthashrama) a lot of sages came to him to talk about Shastra. Aupadhenav, Vaitarar, Aurabhra, Paushkalavat, Karavirya, Gaupurarakshit, Sushrut etc.. All these saints believed that they were entrapped by sadness due to the diseases that they were suffering from. Hence to conquer against their sorrows and to help themselves and make life better they wanted to learn Ayurveda from the King of Kashi. Thereby all these saints became the king's shishya (students) for ayurveda. Knowing the misery and plight of the saints Dhanwantrai happily taught them and advised them.

Ayurveda is a part of Atharvaveda. Before evolution of this Srishti, Brahma created Brahmasanhita (1 lakh shloka, 1000 chapters). Keeping in mind the short life span of persons, Ayurveda was divided into eight branches, namely:

  • Shalya
  • Shalakya
  • Kay Chikitsa
  • Bhootvidya
  • Kaumarbhrutya
  • Agadatantra
  • Rosayantantra
  • Vajikarantantra

As per the request of the students Dhanwantari described Surgery (Shalya) related to ayurveda. He told them that ayurveda is meant for purposes:

  1. Rescue from disease
  2. To maintain good health

The meaning of Ayurveda according to Dhanwantari is:

  1. By which liveliness is present.
  2. By which one can get long life (Ayu).
  3. By which one can get knowledge of life.
  4. It generates attitude to think on Ayu (life).

Also that this Shastra is constant, persistent, holy, full of happiness, increases life and activities.

The difference between Susrutsanhita and Charaksanhita is that in place of Atreya there the name of Dhanwantari exists.

Introduction of Ayurveda
History of Ayurveda
Basic Principles of Ayurveda
Ayurveda Pharmacopea
Ayurveda and Health
Padarth Vidnyan
Original Scriptures
Ayurvedic Treatment
Ayurvedic Therapies